Growing Up

i guess this is the problem with quiet sundays… too much time to sit around and think about things. some contributions on the topic…

Blink 182 – Dammit

It’s alright to tell me what you think about me

I won’t try to argue or hold it against you

I know that you’re leaving you must have your reasons

The season is calling and your pictures are falling down

The steps that I retrace a sad look on your face

The timing and structure did you hear he fucked her

A day late a buck short I’m writing the report

I’m losing and failing when I move I’m flailing now

And it’s happened once again

I’ll turn to a friend

Someone that understands

Sees through the master plan

But everybody’s gone

And I’ve been here for too long

To face this on my own

Well I guess this is growing up

Well I guess this is growing up

And maybe I’ll see you at a movie sneak preview

You’ll show up and walk by on the arm of that guy

And I’ll smile and you’ll wave we’ll pretend it’s okay

The charade it won’t last when he’s gone I won’t come back

And it’s happened once again

I’ll turn to a friend

Someone that understands

And sees through the master plan

But everybody’s gone

And you’ve been here for too long

To face this on your own

Well I guess this is growing up

Well, I guess this is growing up (x4)

Well, I guess this is growing up

my contribution…

take a group of five year olds. watch them go through their first year of school together. some will be exceptional readers and writers, others will be the sportspeople, others yet the creative ones that write amazing stories.

watch them settle into their roles and define themselves in accordance to the rest of the group. take byron .. who goes to kindy with kemp. kemp and byron are the leaders. the other kids follow. some of them are the playful ones, some of them are the cute ones, byron has his favourites, so does kemp…but they are the leaders.

it’s all group dynamics. we feel much more comfortable when we can define ourselves in reference to others. for example… the grumpy old men from the Muppet Show. they are defined by their comments. their sarcastic commentary on the proceeding is in fact their particular form of expression and participation in the group.

so what happens as you grow up… you break and stretch the bonds of the group that you exist in. as you develop in understanding and maturity, you begin to understand your own role.. and then you are in a powerful place. you either choose to complete the model and follow through, or you break the mold and form a new pathway for yourself. the challenge is facing the new path even if you travel it alone. it’s a scary place.

but it’s all group dynamics. you’re still participating in that original group structure, just that the nature of your participation and expression has changed.

i think that there is some flexing and changing about to happen with some of the people that i know. i think that it will be a very positive experience. but i do not know which pathway it will take. so we’ll watch and see.

this is what happens when there is not enough happening on a sunday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

