the Culture effect

today’s old testament lecture was good. i very much enjoyed it. we are looking at the psalms which is great, but the best bit for me was the video clip at the end. looking at the period of the israelite kings and all their mistakes. the biggest lesson though, came from the story of Lachish. that city basically defended jerusalem to the south. but their rulers had allowed the high places of Baal worship to remain, and promoted that as the dominant religion… so God allowed them to be ruined.

Hezekiah in his kingship, removes the high places and turns the israelites back to the way of the Lord. but the lesson that archeology gives us, is a unique picture of Lachish. although the culture had turned to Baal worship, excavation shows us that there were many loyal households that continued to worship God, the one true God.

the lesson? simply that regardless of individual practices… essentially the fall of culture, be it moral or ethical standards, genuine worship or fidelity.. will eventually cause the downfall of all the people, even the innocents.

Emails

#1 – in Response to a Lengthy Encouragement

“hi tash, thanks for that encouragement. guys don’t say much, so i’ll see you later.”

#2 – in Response to Last Night’s Puzzler

“Yip.”

#3 – in a Second Response to Last Night’s Puzzler

I have decided that Yip is probably not the insightful iron sharpening iron answer that you were looking for, so I am going to give it another go, although at the moment I am between jobs so I may have to save this and send it later when it is completed, although you won’t know that that is what has happened, because the penmanship will be seamless. Although I will tell you out of courtesy.

My bible says that God gave the garden of Eden (————- edited. By my right. Ed. ) to Adam and Eve and he said ‘eat, but not from that tree’ Obviously this is not a direct quote, but God will forgive me. I think I have the general jist of it.

If we are to expand that out, that means we have free will. Unfortunately, the chick stuffed it for all of us.

I have often wondered what would have happened if Adam had said “Eve you stupid bitch we weren’t supposed to do that” Would Eve have been kicked out, and if so, how would Adam have kids, or more importantly, Nookie in general. (Nookie, or the lack of .. is very important.)

I am listening to Walking on sunshine, the ska version by Reel Big Fish. It is cool.

(listening to People Get Ready – by the Blind Boys of Alabama. Ed.)

The other thing my Bible says is that God knows the plans he has for your life. I don’t have the reference for that one, so I guess it is plagarism, and I will get a zero for this essay, but I can live with that.

However, I am pretty sure that my bible has an ‘s’ at the end of the word plan. Making it plans. Thats plural. Meaning more that one.

Now one could argue that it means that he has different plans for different areas of your life, but seeing as there is two of us, and that one can argue that, then two would think that maybe, just maybe God has more than one plan.

I am listening to uptown girl by Me first and the gimme gimmes now.

Think if you were coming to my house. You can go through riverhead, or greenhithe, or town, on ponsnobby, or pt chev to get to my house. Different paths, same destination. Hmmm interesting.

Could also be, different plans, but same destination.

As you say. God operates out of the square a little (just as an aside, now I am listening to FIF ‘the day we killed’ it turns out that uptown girl is a really short song when you play it twice as fast) (i still own the t-shirts from the 99 summer tour of NZ. that is part of what makes me cool. Ed.)

I have to get to work now. If you are lucky I will finish this after my lecture, if not it will be tomorrow. I guess you will know which one depending on when it arrives in your inbox.

Once again I will probably tell you. Coz I am a good guy like that. For some reason this hasn’t loaded properly. Maybe it is the work computer. Anyway, now there is no music, however there is the sound of Shrek on. Fiona just pulled an arrow out of his ass. We also have fifth element and Monsters Inc on, but no sound. Anyway, God. Outside the square. No time for him. What I reckon is that he doesn’t see time linear, like us. You have already pointed this out. God can see beginning and middle and end. For him it is kind of like watching an episode of saved by the bell, coz he really knows what is going to happen, and it is kind of embarassing, and he wishes he could stop us from doing stupid things, but for some weird reason he can’t turn his eyes away. Did we write the script of saved by the bell? No. Do we control what happens in the show? No. But do we know what is going to happen by the end credits.


Which “Saved By The Bell” Character Are You?

Yes. God knows us. He has numbered, and possibly on quiet days, named, the hairs on our head. And he knows everything else about creation. Therefore isn’t it feasible that God can just sit their, and, knowing ourselves better than ourselves, can predict outcomes? Also if he is out of time, then he can see what has happened, but allows us to make choices, and opens opportunites, knowing through how he knows us, and through what he can see forward in non linear time, that we will or won’t take them, but he gives them too us anyway. If God was going to control and predestin the future then he wouldn’t have put the apple in the tree, or the tree in the garden, but he did. Coz for God what is the fun of programming robots to praise you. Where is the communication from machines? Thats all I have. I have to do work now. There is music on, but it is from Shrek, but I think they are saying Hallelujah, and maybe the princess is going to get married. I’ve never seen this movie, and I don’t really care. ”

(now listening to Can’t Give Me Nothing by Doug MacCleod. Ed.)

Soundtrack supplied courtesy of Cool Blue

Song of the Moment : for reasons unstated.

Etta James – At Last

At last

my love has come along

my lonely days over

and life is like a song.

At last

the skies above are blue.

Well, my heart was wrapped up in clover

the night I looked at you.

I found a dream

that I could speak to

a dream that I could call my own.

I found a thrill

to press my cheek to

a thrill that I have never known.

Well, you smile

you smile

oh and then the spell was cast.

And here we are in heaven

for you are mine at last.

I found a dream

that I could speak to.

A dream that I

could call my own.

I found a thrill

to press my cheek to

a thrill that I have never known.

Well, you smile

you smile

oh and then the spell was cast.

And here we are in heaven

for you are mine at last.

ooh yeah,

you are mine

you are mine

at last

at last

at last

at last

last minute addition to song of the moment… on second edit

We had it all – Dobie Gray

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

