Song of the Moment

I Never Left You

Dave Dobbyn

You struggled

You made a fist of your youth

And in the days before your latest great designs

You got yours

Succeeded most of half the time

And there were days

When all the breaks flew you by

No sense you following the best laid plans

Things done in earnest never got to stand

Ain’t it amazing just how everything changes

When the world takes two steps backwards

Backwards

There’s no emotion in a world without you

And I never left you

With my devotions like a light inside you

And I’ll never let you down

You want it

You need to justify your times

And there’ll be days when all the crazies take the prize

When the Garden of Eden’s dust is blown away

We’ll be waiting at the gate to do the time

No sense in following the best laid plans

Things done in earnest never get to stand

Hey it’s amazing just how everything changes

When the world takes a few steps backwards

Backwards

There’s no emotion in a world without you

And I never left you

With my devotion like a light inside you

And I’ll never let you down

You know I hope it springs eternal

From the faces of these angels here

I can’t let you

Down into the dungeons of a life lived under fear and pleading

I can’t let you go

There’s no emotion in a world without you

And I never left you

With my devotion like a light inside you

And I’ll never let you down

By the light of the moon our love alone to hide you

And I’ll never let you down

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

