Fingers On The Fretboard

I have long lost callouses reforming from hours of playing guitar in the last few days. I have short fingers.. so stretching them into all sorts of chord structures and trying to manipulate sounds from my guitar that resemble what most can achieve with ease.. takes me a while.. but I’m getting there. And then it struck me this morning.. 5 days til departure to America, and I’m not taking my guitar with me. A month of absence will soften my fingers back to their uncooperative state.

Fingers On The Keyboard

I spent the weekend with Mum, which was good. Went to the exhibition of a friend. Some cool stuff with frangipanis, hibiscus and lilies. Went shopping, and cooked. Nice to hang out and be relaxed. Came home with Hillary Clinton’s biography to read. Mum rearranged a lot of the books at home.. and I noticed that one of the defining features of our home, are books. There are books dominating the landscape of three rooms, not to mention bedside tables, magazines on coffee tables.. and not jsut trashy magazines, but Metro and North and South.

If Vocabulary and therefore, reading material, is as important as they say, I think Mum’s done a good job of providing an exceptional library. I think we cover the following genres now.. Marketing & Business, Personal Growth, Spiritual Resources, Classics, Biography, Poetry, Children’s, General Fiction, General Non-Fiction.

I’m all for the Library. Anytime we buy a book, you can pretty much guarantee that at least the four of us will read it. Us girls, that is. Not that we do the buying. Thanks, Mum.

Fingers And Biology

Sometime last week, I caught the end trappings of The Opposite of Sex on TV. I first saw this out in theatres eons ago.. I liked it then.. and I remembered this quote.. Which I like, regardless of the theological implications. If there are any.

Sheriff Carl Tippett (played by Lyle Lovett.. egads)

“What’s the point of sleeping with you if it doesn’t get your attention?”

Basically, the Sheriff and Lucia (Lisa Kudrow) are involved, but Lucia habitually pays more attention to her dead brother’s lover ‘taking care of him’. So, the Sheriff is saying that when you walk into a room, you should look for that person you’re sleeping with, or supposed to be focussing your attention on… and then he sums it up like this.

“Say the point of sex isn’t recreation or procreation or any of that stuff. Say its concentration. Say it’s supposed to focus your attention on the person you’re sleeping with, (beat) biological highlighter. Otherwise, there’s just too many people in the world.”

Yup, seems to make a lot of sense to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

