Bloglinks, Comings and Goings

Tim is echoing the call of lots of other people for more of these, whatever they are!! I have to say that I agree. I enjoy perusing the links and thoughts that are captured there.

Stu has linked to a pretty cool website, so much so that it inspired this comment, and this idea.. see below. Ought I quote myself?

My brain satellites to things like the 26 things project, the mayday project.

The idea being that ordinary people capture images of a certain time on a certain day and then collate them, discovering along the way, how ordinary and extraordinary we all are.

i would like to give a camera to each of my congregation, and ask them to take a photograph on the hour for each hour of a single day…

I think it would help us to understand each other better.

Maybe it would inspire us.

Maybe it would discourage us.. but at least it would move us somewhere.

Guess I did quote myself.

Been And Seen

Just spent the weekend in Mangawhai Heads, whilst Dani has been mooching around Florida. I took some of my kids to Campbell Park there.. and we had a good time. Good food, good beach, good windy days, good fun. I taught them to play Mafia, the card game. We ate and talked and slept marae style. It was a good quality weekend of togetherness, with very few boundaries that weren’t self-imposed. Yay, us! COmmunity is alive and happening.

Came home and led worship. Used a Highway Video clip in the middle of a musical interlude.

Last Night’s Benedictory Prayer

Dear Lord

Some things happened this week in our nation that signal a change in the wind. Laws were passed that will mean changes for us, for our children and for our children’s children. It has provoked anger and grief, frustration and sorrow.


Teach Us to follow you in this time and place. (congregation)

When everything is defended on the basis of justice, rights and freedom, it’s hard to see a way forward to what true justice really is. We know what it’s not. It’s not laws passed in Parliament, it’s not courtroom tv drama, it’s not trial by media or who’s right & who’s wrong.

Teach Us to follow you in this time and place. (congregation)

Help us God, to honour you, by seeking to be people of Your Justice. Justice that is strong and true and humble. Justice that is loving and graceful, justice that is generous, and demanding. Help us to hold all these things in tension, because we cannot accomplish it on our own. Teach us to love the lawmakers, for that also is just.

Teach Us to follow you in this time and place. (congregation)

Honour and Praise to You, oh God. Amen. (congregation)

Maggi says…

Maggi is a prolific blogger, and one of many helping to brighten a relatively Advent-less landscape with poignant signposts along the way to Bethlehem. Maggi says …

I like the fact that the coming of God into our world was realised in the birth of a baby. A baby will be born when it’s ready. It makes no difference whether WE are ready (who is ever ‘ready’ for a baby?). But policies or none, structures or none, regardless of theologies and liturgies and leadership structures and postmodern theories and conventions and housegroups, God will come and be born in our world.

Birth is a great leveller. It is always messy and inconvenient, painful yet usually joyful, untidy and undiginfied, and not entirely controllable. It happens to those who are ready and those who are not. Babies break up the order of even the best planned nurseries, and defy the control-freakery of the most organised of mothers-to-be. Birth isn’t fair or controllable: it sometimes comes quickly and easily to people who are unprepared, and with agonised diffuculty to those who have a meticulous birth plan.

So it is with God. He will be born in our world whether we’re ready or not, deserving or not, prepared or not. The incarnation of God will defy our plans, upset the organised, and come with ease and rapturous joy to undeserving sinners and the poor in spirit.

‘Now let your love be born in us,

O come, Lord Jesus, Come.’

Seen Again

Took some of my favourite sixth formers out to dinner and the movies tonight. They are the kind of people that I know I’ll be inviting round for dinner in ten years time regardless of where we end up. We went to Cezanne (cheap food for students!) and then took in Garden State at the Rialto in Newmarket. Had a glorious time talking about it afterwards, whilst enjoying the delights of Franklin Rd at Christmastime.

Song Of The Moment

Tash McGill

This is my old new everything hymn

i’ll speak of suffering

i’ll speak of majesty

i’ll speak of everything you mean to me

I have suffered, wrestled and fought with all of my might

all of my strength, i have cried, i have cried

I have cried, but you’re still who you say you are

i have suffered endless silences, endless prayers

i have cried, but you’re still who you say you are

This is my old new everything hymn

i’ll speak of suffering

i’ll speak of majesty

i’ll speak of everything you mean to me

And i’ve tried to sing the songs of every man

i’ve tried to sing the songs to say what i can

but here i am speechless in my own language

here I am, come find me here again, come find me here again

i have worshiped you, been voiceless and fearless before you

i’ve seen the dawn and fallen, down on my knees, down on my knees

i’ve lifted my head and felt freedom again, felt free

i’ve rediscovered beauty on earth, i’ve cried and smiled, i’ve laughed

you’re still who you say you are, you’re still who you say you are

This is my old new everything hymn

i’ll speak of suffering

i’ll speak of majesty

i’ll speak of everything you mean to me

And i’ve tried to sing the songs of every man

i’ve tried to sing the songs to say what i can

but here i am speechless in my own language

here I am, come find me here again, come find me here again

and how can it be, i’m so relentlessly awful

and you’re so, majesty evermore

and how can it be, i’m so relentlessly awful

and you’re so, majesty evermore

This is my old new everything hymn

i’ll speak of suffering

i’ll speak of majesty

i’ll speak of everything you mean to me

And i’ve tried to sing the songs of every man

i’ve tried to sing the songs to say what i can

but here i am speechless in my own language

here I am, come find me here again, come find me here again

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

