Song Of The Moment : You’re All I Need To Get By
Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

You’re all I need to get by.
Like the sweet morning dew, I took one look at you,
And it was plain to see,
you were my destiny. With my arms open wide,
I threw away my pride
I’ll sacrifice for you
Dedicate my life to you
I will go where you lead
Always there in time of need
And when I lose my will
You’ll be there to push me up the hill
There’s no, no looking back for us
We got love sure ‘nough, that’s enough
You’re all, You’re All I need to get by.
I all, you’re all I want to strive for and do a little more
All, all the joys under the sun wrapped up into one
You’re all, You’re all I need to get by.

You’re all I need to get by.
Like an eagle protects his nest, for you I’ll do my best,
Stand by you like a tree, dare anybody to try and move me
Darling in you I found
Strength where I was torn down
Don’t know what’s in store but together we can open any door
Just to do what’s good for you and inspire you a little higher
I know you can make a man out of a soul that didn’t have a goal
Cause we, we got the right foundation and with love and determination
You’re all, You’re All I need to get by.
I all, you’re all I want to strive for and do a little more
All, all the joys under the sun wrapped up into one
You’re all, You’re all I need to get by.

Tales Of The Summer
Withhold all applause, I know that your days have seemed a little less inspired in the month I’ve been away. The last month has been marvellous and traumatic and all of those things…

A Brief History Of December
4 Advent preparations
1 worship slot
1 end of year worship team function
1 end of internship graduation dinner
4 end of internship graduation presentations
5 rehearsals for the contemporary production
2 performances of the contemporary production
1 performance with the Very Handsome Band at the women’s christmas event
3 performances with the Very Handsome Band at the morning services
1 attendance of the ‘A Christmas Carol’ opera for Carmel’s debut lead part
1 international and much loved house guest
4 rehearsals for the traditional christmas service
1 traditional christmas service
4 rolls of gaffa tape
75 tealights
45 white candles
36 traditional church candles
15 metres of black fabric
1 family christmas tree decorating night at Mum’s
1 christmas tree decorating at Andy & Kirsten’s
1 trip to the ballet to see the Nutcracker – modern
1 sleepless morning to buy U2 tickets
25 instant new friends upon learning I have U2 tickets
4 days looking after the Bradley kids
1 trip to Hamilton
2 trips to Whangarei
3 songs written
1 set of new drum heads bought

Summer Harvest
This year was probably the best-run Summer Harvest programming I have seen in years. That’s probably why it was so sad that there were only 400 punters there. There is a crew of committed heart-and-soul people behind this project, and yet without the YFC staff in the Auckland office to do the relationship stuff with young people, schools and ministries, the whole thing flounders. I felt terrible for Ness, who had done an incredible job. It was interesting to watch some of the directors from Wellington, who don’t really have the heart of Summer Harvest but are charged with running the thing trying to relate to the culture of the Summer Harvest crew. There were many instances where I realised how far we have come as the Eastercamp team. Leadership choices and processes for caring for people and allowing space to listen to the heart of God on this thing. And also some of the lessons learnt over the years about the differences between event management and camp management.. some things are not all equal.

Constant Gardening
Sometimes my heart feels like a garden. I’m constantly pulling at the weeds that grow and threaten to choke all that I am. I know that I have precious and fragile plants that need my attention and care, and that dangerous feelings, memories and hopes pose a threat always. Sometimes it’s hard to know what to weed out and what to leave. How do you know which of the small weed-like plants to remove? After all, who expects an oak tree to come from an acorn? That constantly surprises me. So how do you make room in your heart of hearts for the friends that arrive out of the blue? Do you take something out of the flowerbed in order to make room, or do you dig a new bed? I haven’t decided on the best approach yet, so I have plenty of seedlings just resting in bright light, with shade close by… and I’ll try and remember to water them over the next couple of months .. until I figure out what will grow in this garden of mine. I have a feeling I might take pleasure in the outcomes.

I’ve certainly been watering and sheltering this new friendship with Cairin (in the photo above) and it’s starting to really blossom. She’s starting to grasp hold of so much of what’s in store ahead.. and facing it with wide-eyed excitement. It thrills me to see someone’s heart open so wide.. wide open living. One morning at harvest.. we watched a video snippet of african children, and world events.. tragedies. Her eyes overflowed, and then she said she’d realised in those moments that her upcoming trip to Africa will be more than a sojourn before the UK. Then I started to cry… because she knows where God is calling her now.. and she’s realising that what’s ahead is so much more than what was holding her back here.

She is my priceless treasure, and I delight in her.

Those moments are keeping me afloat. It’s the love of God at work in the lives of those I care for most.. those who hang so precariously on the edge of meaningful life and purposelessness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

