You Taste So Bitter And So Sweet.

Simple is a lyric settling on my heart. I’m defragmenting the harddrive of this
cluttered christian culture we live in. I’m so tired of the endless conversations about intricacies that I’m sure don’t affect our salvation.

I’m tired of endless critique – this week I came across a whole movement of people that believe Rob Bell to be a heretic. There are preachers who devote sermons to derailing his teachings and labelling him a false teacher. There are more book reviews and commentary on the writers of our christian culture than I’ve ever faced before and I feel like we have lost our way.

This week I entered a comment over at Rhett’s place, because for once I didn’t want to critique a fellow brother of faith. We are so appalling bad at allowing space for people to be different, for beliefs and methodology to vary. How are we, as first chosen children of the Creator – so determined to uproot the diversity that makes us so delightfully human.

Why are we so black and white? The wisdom of Solomon lived in the shades of grey, the shapes of nuance that birth wisdom in judgement that we can only dream of. Surely, the true justice and judgement of the Lord comes from the same place? So – why can we not live in a realm that accepts some things we cannot form concrete answers for?

I am tired of a christian clergy (paid and volunteer leaders) that are so vastly involved in christendom, that our engagement with culture is limited to self-destruct.

Yes, there must be healthy constructive criticism of our highest values and admandant vilification of our deepest truths.. but how much more, must there be grace and more importantly than that – a heart for the deeper issue. Hmm – anyway.. in the interests of being prepared to be wrong, and as a sign of respect – I’ve added Rhett and his good mate Frank to the sidebar there. Sometimes it’s good to make a habit of being challenged with stuff you disagree with.

Top Ten Albums Of 2007

2007 has been an interesting music year – so I’ll give you the top ten albums I bought and listened to regularly throughout the year, or just liked the most. Again -no particular order, ‘kay?

– Remedy, by the David Crowder Band
– FutureSex/LoveSounds, by Justin Timberlake
– Live at Radio City, by Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds
– Mutemath, by Mutemath
– West, by Lucinda Williams
– Eleven Steps, by Brian Platt or Second Hand Planet, by OpShop
– See the Morning, by Chris Tomlin (technically a 2006 release)
– Both Sides Now, Joni Mitchell compilation of old
– Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, by the Foo Fighters
– In Rainbows, by Radiohead

Can’t Get Past The Shadow You Left In My Head
You know that feeling, when you really wish you could just forget the moments that were too precious, too painful, too much? For whatever reason the moments have passed and now the memories of it are almost too poignant and present and altogether too much to carry around inside your head, or your heart?

In fact, sometimes it’s like the memories move around – sometimes they creep up on you from the shadows of your subconscious, sometimes they twitter at you from the corners of your heart. Every time I try and clear my head, in they creep again.

The difficulty is, what do you do when you want to remember but the memory is holding you back into some other life you lived before, some other place you don’t belong anymore? That’s what it’s like moving on. Moving from places and people. I think that in the wondering about where the future is going, what lies ahead, what challenges I face, considering all that God & others might be about to ask of me – I desperately forage inside myself for something, anything that will guide me back to courage..

And the only thing I have, are the memories of getting over something else. Moving past the hope deflated, the dreams undone, the seed that was buried. Because I remember how it felt, how brave I had to be, how unfearless I was and how gently the Shepherd led little terrified feet up dangerous, rocky mountain paths onto the high places. Am I brave enough to climb another path like that?

I suspect that I am, regardless of how tired, or old, or incapable I feel – and that terrifies me more than anything else. Have I now lived a life so deep (as Nouwen would call it) that I am willing to make the same choices now knowing the shadows of the valley? If I am, I am proud of myself, and glad that I have moved on from you.

Still, I wonder when I am alone, and there is silence in my head – do you miss me? I am learning not to miss you, despite how drunk I used to be on you.

Song Of The Moment : A Case of You
by Joni Mitchell

Just before our love got lost you said
I am as constant as a northern star
And I said, constant in the darkness
Wheres that at?
If you want me Ill be in the bar

On the back of a cartoon coaster
In the blue tv screen light
I drew a map of canada
Oh canada
And your face sketched on it twice

Oh you are in my blood like holy wine
Oh and you taste so bitter but you taste so sweet
Oh I could drink a case of you
I could drink a case of you darling
And I would still be on my feet
Oh Id still be on my feet

Oh I am a lonely painter
I live in a box of paints
Im frightened by the devil
And Im drawn to those ones that aint afraid
I remember that time that you told me, you said
Love is touching souls
Surely you touched mine
Cause part of you pours out of me
In these lines from time to time

Oh you are in my blood like holy wine
And you taste so bitter but you taste so sweet
Oh I could drink a case of you
I could drink a case of you darling
Still Id be on my feet
And still be on my feet

I met a woman
She had a mouth like yours
She knew your life
She knew your devils and your deeds
And she said
Color go to him, stay with him if you can
Oh but be prepared to bleed
Oh but you are in my blood youre my holy wine
Oh and you taste so bitter, bitter and so sweet
Oh I could drink a case of you darling
Still Id be on my feet
Id still be on my feet

Mmmmmmm

This entry was posted in god ideas, listening to, personal development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment